Your cart is empty.
Celebrating CamCat Books’ 2023 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards Winners + INDIE Publisher of the Year Award

Celebrating CamCat Books’ 2023 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards Winners + INDIE Publisher of the Year Award

By CamCat Books Date: June 10, 2024 Tags: Company News

We’re so proud to share the following CamCat Books’ titles that are 2023 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards Winners. Additionally, we are thrilled to announce that CamCat Books was named Foreword’s 2023 INDIE Publisher of the Year!

The full list of winners can be found here:

Read from their press release below (emphasis added):

“The days leading up to our INDIES announcement are an annual highlight for our team. It is so very satisfying to see the winning votes come in from our Finalist judging team of booksellers and librarians. Their enthusiasm for the process of discovering the most notable titles is so rewarding for us, and such a pleasure to share with our readers,” said Victoria Sutherland, Foreword’s founder and publisher.

With over 2,400 entries submitted across 55 categories, this year’s competition showcased the remarkable talent and diversity of the independent publishing industry. Foreword’s dedicated editors carefully selected approximately 12 finalists per genre, which were then presented to individual librarians and booksellers entrusted with the challenging task of determining the Gold, Silver, Bronze, and Honorable Mention winners.

In addition to the category winners, Foreword editors handpicked Editor’s Choice Prize winners in both fiction and nonfiction. The nonfiction choice from Fantagraphics is Ephemera, by Briana Loewinsohn. For fiction, from Restless Books comes The Simple Art of Killing a Woman, by Patrícia Melo. Both receive a $1,500 honorarium.

Finally, Foreword annually names an INDIE Publisher of the Year for the independent press who exemplifies the spirit of indie publishing. The 2023 award goes to CamCat Books, a publisher that, in a mere five years, has had a significant impact on independent publishing. Their books boast exciting storylines, dynamic authors, and impeccable packaging—titles that catch eyes on bookstore and library shelves before they captivate readers’ imaginations.


2023 Gold Winner for Humor:

Books that present a multitude of topics in a comical or satirical manner. Such books may use wit to comment on society and other traditionally serious issues such as the economy, politics, and family life.

“Raney’s smart, silly, and surprisingly heartfelt debut . . . is thoroughly entertaining and utterly delightful.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“VERDICT Zinging one-liners, familiar superhero tropes with hilarious twists, and defying the world’s expectations to be your authentic self combine to make this an appealing tale for older teens and adults.” Library Journal, Starred Review 

“Raney's debut is a blast [and] inventive as all get out . . .” Booklist, Starred Review 



2023 Bronze Winner for Thriller & Suspense:

Suspense novels and thrillers are tense, exciting, often sensational works with ingenious plotting, swift action, and continuous suspense. Unlike mysteries, thrillers are dominated by action in which physical threat is a constant companion, and a hero (i.e., Jason Bourne) is pitted against a nefarious villain.

“[A] perfectly drawn psychological horror . . . that fans of the grotesque should relish.” —Library Journal

“This is adventure horror done right!” —Cynthia Pelayo, Bram Stoker Award nominated author of Children of Chicago

“The serpentine trails that twist and twine throughout Alexander James’ towering debut all lead to one destination: absolute terror.” —Clay McLeod Chapman, author of Ghost Eaters