Your cart is empty.
3 Series to Get Lost In

3 Series to Get Lost In

By CamCat Books Date: September 01, 2023 Tags: Books to Live In

by MC Smitherman

We live in an era where television shows span seasons that go up into the double digits, some cinematic universes have full 24-hour days’ worth of films, and there are video games that will take weeks to complete. Content binging is the name of the game, and here at CamCat, we’re eager to play. This week in the Books to Live in Blog, we’re tossing some expansive series your way for you to read until 3 a.m. only to realize that book 2 ends on a cliffhanger, and you’ve already stayed up this late so you might as well keep going with book 3.

If you’re a fan of thrilling action-adventure series rooted in hard research and author experience, then look no further than the Chris Black Adventures by marine biologist James Lindholm. Spearheaded by an indomitable hero, this fast-paced series of thrillers backs up increasingly complex danger with equally complex and well-developed characters. Dive into this three book journey and uncover all the mysteries in store at the bottom of the deep and treacherous seas. And keep an eye out for the fourth book in this series, Calypso Down, coming out in March of 2024!

Perhaps you’re a fierce hunter of justice who’s keen on crafty spywork and isn’t afraid of a protagonist willing to get their hands dirty to solve a case? If that sounds like you, then the Wayward series by former CIA intelligence analyst Susan Ouellette is perfect for you. This spy series is absolutely dripping with authenticity that sees justice as a never-ending pursuit, and you’ll find that this trilogy practically turns the pages for you. With dastardly villains, impossible choices, intricate schemes, and adrenaline-fueled action, you might end up just like the protagonist, Maggie Jenkins, and not know when to stop.

Or are you on a quest for something more fantastical and shiny all over with a hefty helping of faerie glamour? Don’t worry, there’s no need to venture into an uncharacteristically verdant grove and pawn off your firstborn. The Empire of the House of Thorns series by Christian Klaver is an excellent choice for the fantasy inclined, filled with daring mythical battles between the faerie-folk and humans as they duke it out in Victorian London. With enough family drama to fuel a hundred fictitious gossip magazines, magical mayhem pushes familial and political tensions to the breaking point in this trilogy.

No matter what your proclivities are, as long as you’ve got the time and don’t mind losing a bit of sleep, these three series will sweep you away for a nice long weekend.

A Chris Black Adventure Series

Book One: Into a Canyon Deep

Not all secrets are buried deep . . . enough. 

Chris Black has spent two decades searching for answers deep within the world’s oceans and is no stranger to the risks of undersea life. Alongside Mac Johnson, his childhood friend and former Navy SEAL, Chris has cheated death above and below the ocean’s surface more times than he can count. But nothing has prepared him for the violence he and his team encounter in their own backyard of Carmel-by-the-Sea, violence which will change the team forever. 

When Black and Johnson, while studying a deep undersea canyon, discover barrels of toxic waste piled on the seafloor, they immediately grasp the danger to the environment. But they are slower to recognize the danger their discovery poses for their friends and families.

The Wayward Series

Book One: The Wayward Spy

The terrorist threat has changed. The consequences haven’t. 

When her fiancé, a CIA operative accused of treason, is killed overseas, intelligence analyst Maggie Jenkins smells cover-up and sets out to clear his name. Maggie disobeys direct orders and travels to Tbilisi, Georgia, to follow a trail littered with secrets and lies, corruption and deceit, risking her own life to expose the terrorist threat at the intersection where the Russian Mafia, Chechen rebels, Al Qaeda and … US government officials meet. 

From the halls of power in Washington, D. C. to the political chaos of the former Soviet Union, Maggie must confront players from the intelligence, political, and criminal worlds who will do anything to stop her. How far will Maggie go to uncover the truth?

The Empire of the House of Thorns

Book One: Shadows Over London

The Faerie have come to take London, and only one girl stands in their way. 

Justice isn’t your average fifteen-year-old girl. She’s an irrepressible scoundrel, and she always has a plan. But her world falls apart when her father forcibly bundles the entire family into carriages in the middle of the night and carts them off to a strange mansion on the outskirts of Victorian London. The Faerie are invading, but the Kasric siblings can’t stay neutral in the ensuing war when they find their parents on opposing sides. Justice has no choice but to embrace her burgeoning magical powers to fight against the Faerie and save her family.

Thank you so much for checking out our recommendations. We think no matter which series you choose, you’re going to be in for one heck of a ride.

If you’re looking to hear more about the latest from CamCat, subscribe to our Fiction Newsletter and be the first to experience all the excellent tales we’re weaving together.