Your cart is empty.
The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn

The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn

By Amber Logan
Categories: Fiction, Amateur Sleuth, Literary, Ghost, Gothic
Imprint: CamCat Books
Hardcover : 9780744306064, 336 pages, October 2022
Paperback (Large print edition) : 9780744306439, 464 pages, October 2022
Ebook (EPUB) : 9780744306415, October 2022
Audiobook : 9780744306347, October 2022
Expected to ship: 2022-10-25
Expected to ship: 2022-10-25
Look Inside

An adult retelling of the classic children’s book The Secret Garden about an American woman who, while grieving her mother’s death, travels to Japan to photograph a dilapidated inn only to find herself mysteriously tied to the inn’s haunted past.

Description

Cracked doesn’t always mean broken.

Grieving her mother’s death, Mari Lennox travels to Kyoto, Japan to take photographs of Yanagi Inn for a client. As she explores the inn and its grounds, her camera captures striking images, uncovering layers of mystery shrouding the old resort—including an overgrown, secret garden on a forbidden island. But then eerie weeping no one else in the inn seems to hear starts keeping her awake at night.

Despite the warnings of the staff, Mari searches the deep recesses of the old building to discover the source of the ghostly sound, only to realize that her own family’s history is tied to the inn, its mysterious, forlorn garden . . . and the secrets it holds.

Reviews

“A lovely re-imagining of a classic tale. Amber Logan transforms the story of The Secret Garden into something new and fresh, yet still utterly timeless.” —A.C. Wise, author of Wendy, Darling and The Ghost Sequences

“Evoking Burnett and du Maurier in equal parts, in a setting dense with the distinctive native flora and fauna of Japan—including a delightful blueberry-eating tanuki—this novel is wholly original, and both modern and timeless. We should all celebrate this introduction to the lush and fecund imagination of a remarkable talent.” —Suzanne Kamata, author of The Baseball Widow

“Lyrical and haunting, The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn is a luminous retelling of a classic tale, made modern through the lens of Logan’s intrepid American heroine. A story of redemption, forgiveness, and the transformative power of grief. Beautifully moving and inspired.” —Paulette Kennedy, author of Parting the Veil and The Witch of Tin Mountain

The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn is a puzzle box of buried memories, grief, and the love between mothers and daughters. Amber Logan's poignant update of The Secret Garden sits within the legacy of garden literature that explores the unbreakable link that connects people, place, and time.” —Tiffani Angus, author of Threading the Labyrinth

“Logan is a master of atmosphere and texture. The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn is a haunting tale of grief and enchantment that will linger in your mind long after reading. Perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman and Genevieve Valentine.” —Helen Marshall, author of The Migration

“My favorite things—escape to Japan, an island within an island, mother-daughter relationships, and a mysterious garden—can be found in Amber A. Logan’s debut novel, The Secret Garden of Yanagi Inn. The gradual but compelling unraveling of this family mystery captivated me. Heartfelt celebration of female friendship across the Pacific!” —Naomi Hirahara, Edgar Award-winning author of Hiroshima Boy and Clark and Division

“The prose, rich in detail of Mari’s feelings and experiences, builds the atmosphere with slow precision.”—Rebecca Otowa, author of At Home in Japan: A Foreign Woman’s Journey of Discovery